Snowy Trails are Calling Me

Snow trailSince moving to Alaska, I have learned that I love hiking in the snow!   Last winter we had mostly rain which froze on the trails making the paths quite slippery and hiking not so enjoyable for me. This fall I have been praying, Please Lord, let it snow!!!   He has heard my plea and answered with a couple of nice snowfalls already this November.  For the last two weeks the trails have beaconed me!!!

snow fernThis little fellow, shaded by trees above, joins me in my prayer longing for a thick winter duvet;  he is ready to nestle neath the earth for a long winters nap.

snow little creekThis little creek meanders its way down the hillside longing to join the scene below…

waterfallIf enough snow falls, even this waterfall will be buried and frozen, still and quiet for most of the winter.

returning from out the roadAlas it is time to return to the warmth of home, my hike in the snow now over.  The beauty of Lake Eyak, Cordova, and Prince William Sound waits for me just behind those mountains, beaconing me also…until the next snow laden trail calls me.

Leave a Reply

